MEDEA / Lunalia

They have waited long enough

Pure female power in a nutshell: The composers Annelies Van Parys, Aftab Darvishi and Calliope Tsoupaki have written three new compositions for soprano and ensemble. Gaea Schoeters provided the text and overarching dramaturgy. Natalie Haynes, aka the muse from the UK, binds the three pieces together with words. The soprano Charlotte Wajnberg, clarinettist Annelien Van Wauwe and others perform the compositions. The inspiration for this creative joy is the genuine whirlwind of books that have been offering a different perspective on the male-oriented Greek myths in recent years. Margaret Atwood gives voice to Penelope in The Penelopiad. Madeline Millertransforms the sorceress Circe into a complex and yet likeable character who does not allow herself to be controlled by the men around her. These books draw attention to the women who have always been banished to the edges of the story. Or as Natalie Haynes puts it in her book A Thousand Ships: ‘They have waited long enough for their turn. (…).’

Annelies Van Parys (Medea), Aftab Darvishi (Circe), Calliope Tsoupaki (Penelope)

Gaea Schoeters

Charlotte Wajnberg, soprano
Natalie Haynes, writer and classicist
Annelien Van Wauwe, clarinet
Raphaëla Danksagmüller, duduk
Osama Abdulrasol, qanun

CAROUSEL String Quartet: 
Samuel Nemtanu, violin
Nicolas Dupont, violin
Mihai Cocea, viola
Louis Rodde, cello